Early Years Are Learning Years

Hand Print Poem

This is to remind you

When I have grown so tall,

That once I was quite little

And my hands were very small.

Directions: Have children dip their hand in watered down paint and place the print on construction paper. Have the above poem preprinted and cut into squares. Glue the poem next to the handprint. Write the date of the activity for a parent’s keepsake.

Special Special (tune: Twinkle Twinkle Little Star)

Special special special me
How I wonder what I’ll be
In this big world I can be
Anything I want to be
Special special special me
How I wonder what I’ll be

Thumbprint Art

Let children create a picture with thumbprints. Roll thumbs in washable poster paint.

The caption: “Made by Thumbody Special!”

Bibliography

Farmer McPeepers and His Missing Milk Cows  Katy S. Duffield                  

Put It On the List!  by Kristen Darbyshire             

The Red Hen Rebecca Emberley           

It’s Not Easy Being a Bunny Marilyn Sadler

Bed Hogs Kelly S. Dipucchio

Not a Box Antoinette Portis. 

I Like Myself Karen Beaumont

The OK Book Amy Krause Rosenthal

Who Sank the Boat Pamela Allen

Whose Baby Am I John Butler

Over in The Meadow Jane Cabrera

–Sara Northern + the Early Childhood Committee

Leave a Reply

