Super-Charged Science with Nitro Joe!

Nitro Joe Color Small

ZAP! POW! KABOOM! Nitro Joe performs larger-than-life science experiments. Balloons will explode, potions will change color, bubbles will flow, and creeping fog will cover the floor. Science has never been so exciting!

On_Fire_small

Nitro Joe will visit the following branches:

• Walnut Park, Wednesday July 8, 3-4 p.m.
• Barr, Tuesday July 9, 3-4 p.m.
• Schlafly, Wednesday July 15, 3-4 p.m.
• Baden, Thursday July 16, 3-4 p.m.
• Central, Wednesday July 22, 2-3 p.m.

Don’t miss this super-powered science show!

Tea Rex!

These dinos enjoyed a tea party at Schlafly Branch!

tea with rex

Treat your favorite dino to some tea, and then enjoy some of these dino-tastic party picture books:

dinoparty

The Dinosaurs Are Having a Party! by Gareth P. Jones
After being invited to a dinosaur party, at which a special dish is going to be served, a boy and his dog worry that perhaps all is not as it seems.

How Do Dinosaurs Say Happy Birthday? by Jane Yolen
Illustrations and rhyming text present some of the different ways a dinosaur can make her birthday party special, from thanking guests for their gifts to sharing large pieces of cake.

Tea Rex by Molly Idle
Cordelia and her brother host a tea party for an unusual guest–a T-Rex!

Saturday Night at the Dinosaur Stomp by Carol Diggory Shields
When it’s rock ‘n’ roll time during the prehistoric era, many different kinds of dinosaurs gather to twist, twirl, and tromp at a Saturday night party.

Book Weekend – Ninjas!

Ninja!Have you noticed?  Ninjas!

They are hiding everywhere – and here are some new books you find them in.

Ninja! a picture book by Arree Chung, tells of the action packed adventures of a young ninja – but can his stealth help him overcome the Baby Sister?  Funny and cute, too!

Here are older picture books starring Ninjas:

Nighttime Ninja by Barbara DeCosta

Wink: the Ninja who Wanted to be Noticed by J.C. Phillips.

KunoichiLittle Kunoichi: the Ninja Girl by Sanae Ishida.  Ninja skills do not come easily, and frustration is about to overtake Little Kunoichi, when her master gives her some words of wisdom.  With the help of a friend, she finds that perseverance and practice make all the difference.  A mellow tale of friendship and hardwork.

Older read-alikes:

Ninja Red Riding Hood by Cosey Rosen Schwartz,

NinjaBunnyNinja Bunny by Jennifer Grey Olson.

A little bunny decides that he wants to become a ninja, but he finds the guidebook rules hard to follow.  Always work alone?  But what about his family?  He begins to doubt if he’s cut out for the ninja life.

Then he has a moment of clarity and discovers the only rule he needs to follow is to be true to himself!

For older siblings or kids who just love the true facts, here are some non-fiction books about ninjas:

Woudn'tWantNinjaYou Wouldn’t Want to Be a Ninja Warrior: a secret job that’s your Destiny by John Melam.  Full of cartoons and side bars, this funny, gross but totally true account let’s readers imagine life as a ninja. J 355.548

Life as a Ninja: an interactive history adventure by Matt Doeden.  This book lets you choose your path as a ninja in training.  J 355.548

Super Science!

MAGIC-HOUSE-SUPER-SCIENCE-FEATURE
Zap! Bam! Kapow! Put on your superhero cape and join Magic House educators as they reveal the super secrets behind everyday science. From the power of air to the speed of sound, see how science is the real superhero in our world.  Super Science will be taking place at ALL full service branches between June 10th and July 8th — check the event calendar to find out when it will be at your favorite branch!

Every Hero Has a Story

Children and teens at Divoll, Schlafly and Central came together to kick off Summer Reading Club with some super-powered parties! Everyone became a hero with their very own capes, masks and wristcuffs. Heroes in attendance were challenged to obstacle courses, board games, speed challenges and cookie decorating. Most importantly, everyone had the chance to sign up for Summer Reading Club!

SC2 SC3 SRC Launch Party_Cape  Wristcuff SRC Launch Party_Cape Front 3CI1 CI2