Book Weekend – Busy Builders

Jean Reidy’s story of builders features the days of the week for pre-school construction enthusiasts.  Each day of the week is featured in bold letters, starting with Sunday, when the plans are scribbled, all the way to Saturday, when the finished project is unveiled at last!busyLeo Timmers illustrated with his trademark google-eyed animals who scramble, carry, and drive with a chaotic glee.  The joys of building have never been so much fun!

All About Alligators

What’s the difference between an alligator and a crocodile? Want to find out? Check out these awesome stories about alligators and find out what they’re all about!

gatorbooks

Alligator or Crocodile? by Melissa Stewart
Explains to young readers how to tell the difference between alligators and crocodiles.

If You Ever Want to Bring An Alligator to School, Don’t! by Elise Parsley
Note to self: If your teacher tells you to bring something from nature for show-and-tell, she does not want you to bring an alligator! But nothing will stop Magnolia, who’s determined to have the best show-and-tell of all–until her reptilian rapscallion starts getting her into some major trouble. Now it’s up to Magnolia to find a way to send this troublemaker home–but what could possibly scare an alligator away?

Snappsy the Alligator by Julie Falatko
Snappsy the alligator is having a normal day when a pesky narrator steps in to spice up the story. Is Snappsy reading a book . . . or is he making crafty plans? Is Snappsy on his way to the grocery store . . . or is he prowling the forest for defenseless birds and fuzzy bunnies? Is Snappsy innocently shopping for a party . . . or is he obsessed with snack foods that start with the letter P? What’s the truth? Snappsy the Alligator (Did Not Ask to Be in This Book) is an irreverent look at storytelling, friendship, and creative differences, perfect for fans of Mo Willems.

The Three Little Gators by Helen Ketteman
A delightful retelling of the three little pigs story. Three little gators strike out on their own in an east Texas swamp. Their mother warns them to build strong houses that can protect them from Big-bottomed Boar, who likes to eat tasty, tender gators for his snack. Soon, First Gator builds himself a nice house out of rocks. Second Gator reckons rocks are too much work, so he builds his house with sticks. And Third Gator’s house of sand is the easiest one to build! But soon Big-bottomed Boar shows up. With a bump, bump, bump of the fierce boar’s rump, he knocks over Third Gator’s house of sand. It doesn’t take long for that rump to bump Second Gator’s house of sticks. But he can’t knock over Third Gator’s house of stones, so he tries another way in – through the chimney! Guess what happens to the Boar’s rump after that?!

Fun Facts About Alligators! by Carmen Bredeson
What do alligators eat? How do alligators and crocodiles differ? Carmen Bredeson answers these and other questions about the alligator in this series title.

If you’re hungry for more fun alligator activities, try out this fun little craft from Easy Peasy and Fun to get your gator on!

gators

Book Weekend – Mother Goose

MAYBEYoung children are enchanted by the  poems of Mother Goose.  The rhythms sooth listeners into slumber, making a few pages a perfect bedtime read after a long day.

But what can educators do to shake up these traditional poems and engage student in a classroom setting?

Maybe Mother Goose by Esme Raji Codell features an energetic pre-school teacher who uses 6 rhymes to get her kids asking what if?

While some of the poems are retold in full, others are abbreviated.  So be sure young listeners are familiar with the traditional versions first.   Most collections of Mother Goose can be found in the same section as fairy tales, the J 398.8.

MotherMrs. Opie has edited several wonderful Mother Goose Collections that feature the illustrations of Rosemary Wells.  Mother Goose’s Little Treasures can be found at our Central Library.  And their latest, My Very First Mother Goose will be available in October!

2016 First Pitch Essay Contest Winners!

STL_CardsClrThis summer, we asked Summer Reading Club participants from all around St. Louis to tell us why they are the best pitcher for the St. Louis Public Library. The winner will have a chance to throw out the first pitch at a St. Louis Cardinals baseball game.  Check out the winning essays below!

First place essay: Layla the Good Reader

I think I should do the first pitch at the game because I started reading and I couldn’t stop.  The first day I signed up for this I read 40 minutes.  I got tired but did not give up.  I love reading.  When I am not busy I have time to play games but I read instead of playing games.  When I play I read too.  Reading at bedtime.  Before I go to bed I always read.  I never want to go to sleep, just read.  Reading not leaving.  Sometimes we go somewhere I always bring a book and even when I don’t have to read I read anyway.  Reading is the key to my education.  Reading makes me learn a lot.  Reading makes you have a good imagination.
by Layla

Second place essay:

I think I should throw the first pitch at the Cardinal game because I love baseball.  I have also been reading a lot this summer.  That’s why I want to throw the first pitch at a Cardinal game.
by Leo